Collection Of All Spiritual Stuffs.

Rambhapuri Peeta, Balehonnur Rambhapuri Mutt

with 0 Comment
Rambhapuri Peeta, Balehonnur Rambhapuri Mutt
Rambhapuri Mutt or Jagadguru Rambhapuri Veerasimhasana Mahasamasthna Peeta is situated on the banks of River Bhadra in Balehonnur in Chikmagalur district.
The Veerabadra temple attached to the Mutt has strong metallic images of Veerabhadra and Bhadrakali.

Jagadguru Renukacharya established Rambhapuri Mutt during early stage in Kruthayuga. Located on the banks of Bhadra river in Narasimharajapura (N.R Pura) taluk of Chickmagalur district, Rambhapuri Peeta is a pilgrimage centre especially for Veerashivas/Lingayath community. As per Legends and Shivagamas Jagadguru Renukacharya received instructions from Lord Shiva and took birth on this earth to spread right spiritual consciousness.

Jagadguru Renukacharya travelled widely to spread Veerashaivism, the locations where he stayed became spiritual awakening centers plus worshipped with great devotion even in the present day. Numerous scholars believe that Renukacharya was the originally the founder of Veerashaivism.

Jagdguru Renukacharya during this Kaliyuga with synonymous name of Revanasiddha blessed Shankaracharya with Chandramouleshwara linga and Rathnagarbhaganapathy, hence bringing communal harmony. Revanasiddha travelled from Kashmir to Kanyakumari to expand Veerashaivism. From then, the heritage of Rambhapuri Peeta is continuing to work for the victory of human to bring peace to world via religion.

Many rulers who ruled the state like Chalukyas, Hoysalas, Rashtrakutas, Gangas, Vijayanagara, Keladi as well as Mysore Wodeyar families has recognized the priceless service done by Rambhapuri Peeta in the field of religion as well as social service, they have reverred the Rambhapuri Peeta with a good amount of donations to continue the service.

The present Jagdguru Prasannarenuka Veerasomeshwara Rajadeshikendra Shivacharya Bhagavatpada ascended the Peeta as the 121st pontiff on 06-Feb-1992.

Rambhapuri Peeta, Balehonnur Rambhapuri Mutt
Shri Jagadguru Renukacharyaji, who sprang from Someshwar Linga at Kollipaki in Andhra Pradesh, established the Rambhapuri Peetha in Karnataka and this is 1st among the Pancha Mahapeethas of Veerashaivism.

The Rambhapuri Peetha is located at Balehonnur, Chikkamagalur District, Karnataka, which is popularly known as the Kashmir of Karnataka, due to its natural scenic beauty.

Shri Jagadguru Renukacharyaji's conquest over religion started from Kollipaki to Malayachala (the vernacular name for Balehonnur) . He traveled all the way from Kollipaki to Malayachala or the present Rambhapuri Peetha at Balehonnur, where the great Maharshi Agastya Muni was anxiously waiting to receive him. Shri Jagadguru Renukacharya preached him the 101 STHALAS of the “ Siddhanta Shikhamani” the religious book of Veerashaivism. We have already seen enough evidences for the rich heritage of Veerashaivism & its long lineage.

Rambhapuri Peetha is a heaven on earth, which is located on the banks of river Tunga and rich in its landscape, beauty with ever green flora and fauna. Its serenity and holistic spirit has made the people to pour in form all the parts of India , as also from rest of the world.

History of Panchapeethas :

The tradition of Virasaiva sect was founded by five ascetics- Revana, Marula, Ekorama, Panditaradhya, Vishwaradhya- who are held to have sprung from the five heads of Shiva, incarnate age after age, almost about 5500 -6000 years ago. These are regarded as very ancient, and Basava is said to have been but the reviver of the faith in 12th century. Yet the early literature shows that the five were all his contemporaries.

`The great gotrakaras established five great religious centers in different parts of India. Ekorama at Kedara in the Himalayas, Vishweswara at Banaras, Marularadya at Ujjain, Panditaradya at Shrishail, Renukacharya at Balehonnur…’ -M.E.Tharstan : Castes and Tribes of South India p-264-265

And also mentioned by Dr. J. S. Pharkuhar in The Religious Quest of India as follows;
`The tradition is that the Virasaiva sect was founded by five ascetics Ekorma, Panditaradya, Revana, Marula and Viswaradya….’

According to popular view, and one backed by historical and literary evidence, the Lingayat or Veerashaiva sect was founded by the Panchacharyas or the Five great Prophets. This view however, is in the realm of mythology and is supported by historical and literary evidence those are available at Allahabad High Court and Jangamwadimath of Kashi.

The Panchacharyas are the five Gurus who incarnated directly form five faces of the Sivalinga and established the Virasaiva religion and Philosophy. Hence they are called as Lingodbhavas. Those five faces of linga called as namely Sadyojata, Vamadeva, Aghora, Tatpurus and Isana. With the following names Revanaradhya, Marularadhya, Ekoramaradhya, Panditaradhya and Vishvaradhya. These five Acharyas are the Gotrapurusas (pioneers) of the Virasaiva religion. The five Gotrapurusas belongs to the five Gotras namely Veera, Nandi, Bhringi, Vrishabha and Skanda respectivily. These Panchacharya ruled the realm of Virasaiva kingdom by establishing the five peethas in different places in India as follows :

Veeashimhasana of Rambhapuri in Balehonnuru (Karnataka)
Saddharma Shimhasana of Ujjain (Karnataka)
Vairagya Shimhasana of Kedar (Uttaranchal)
Surya Shimhasana of Shrishaila (Andhra Pradesh) and
Jnana Shimhasana of Kashi (Uttar Pradesh)

Those Panchacharyas are called as:

•Panditaradhya and


Jagadguru Rambhapuri Veerasimhasana Mahasamasthna Peeta
Ballehonnur, Chikmagalur
Pincode : 577112
Phone : +91-08266-250424


Post a Comment